Cristina, José, Kina and Pilar are part of the ADIS Advisory Board


My name is Cristina and I live in Barcelona. I have been retired for 4 years. Before retiring, I worked as an administrative assistant in different companies.

In my free time, I like to read, although lately, I find it a bit difficult. I also enjoy watching TV series and going to the theatre. Another of my hobbies is travelling and walking through the streets of the different towns I visit.

On Mondays and Wednesdays, I attend the workshops at the “Reina Amalia” for cognitive stimulation activities. Apart from exercising, I have made new friends.

Since I was diagnosed with Alzheimer’s disease, I participate in different studies and projects with the intention that, in the future, Alzheimer’s disease can be diagnosed earlier and an effective treatment can be found.

José Antonio García García

My name is José Antonio García García, I am 66 years old, I live in Motril (Granada, Spain), and everyone knows me as García. I am the father of my three children and I have three wonderful granddaughters.

For the last 20 years, I worked as an insurance inspector.

I like to being involved in different organisations, such as Athema, AFA Contigo, Cañadú o Los Tablones. I am also a member of a theatre group and a living Nativity scene group and, in my spare time, I look after my land and walk every day.

At the age of 58, I was diagnosed with mild cognitive impairment due to Alzheimer’s disease, and I am also a carer for my 93-year-old mother with dementia. However, I am still doing all the activities of daily living, I manage my household finances, I drive, I help my children and granddaughters, and I attend cognitive stimulation workshops 3 days a week.

Since 2020, I have been a member of the national P.E.P.A (Expert Panel of People with Alzheimer’s disease) and, since 2022, of the Andalusian P.E.P.A. I also participate in talks, conferences, webinars and congresses. From these groups, we want to give more visibility to the Alzheimer’s disease, as well as to our priorities and needs in order to maintain our autonomy and a better quality of life.

I want to be part of the ADIS advisory board so that, from different countries, we can reach a larger number of people in society, institutions and European projects. I also consider the ADIS project and the topics to be worked on (immune system, sleep and Alzheimer’s disease) very important. 


I am Kina and I live in Motril, a town on the tropical coast of Granada, Spain. I have always worked as a teacher of adults and early childhood educator, although I am now retired. In my spare time, I enjoy painting, crocheting, walking, looking after my grandchildren when they need it, and traveling when I can.

I have Alzheimer’s disease and I am also a carer for my husband, who has vascular dementia. Previously, I also cared for my father with Alzheimer’s disease until he passed away. 

I think my experience can be useful to the Alzheimer’s community and I am here to help in any way I can.

Pilar Mañaricua Campins

I am Pilar Mañaricua Campins, I am 66 years old and I was born in San Andres del Palomar (Barcelona), where I have lived all my life.

I studied up to C.O.U. at the Maragall school.

My childhood and adolescence have always been linked to the shop and workshop that my parents ran on the ground floor of the family home.

When I was about to enter university, my father became seriously ill and my mother could not continue the family business alone, so I decided to carry on with the family business, working to the full satisfaction of my professional interests.

I am married and I have a 26-year-old daughter. Nowadays, diagnosed with Alzheimer’s disease, I continue to do various activities, such as patchwork, restoration workshops and I also go on trips with my husband and friends. I take care of the housework, the shopping for the house, the groceries…, always with the help of my husband who, being retired, makes my life easier and, also, with the joy of our daughter, Núria, who has understood my condition perfectly and tries, as far as she can, to accompany us on this path which, in reality, is not so different from that of any other retired person.

With regards to medical therapy activities, I go to the memory workshops at the Reina Amalia centre and I have fortnightly sessions with a psychologist from the Alzheimer Catalunya association.

I live, day by day, solving any problem calmly and with the desire that everything goes well.

I have a diagnosis, yes, but I live with the certainty that, in life, you never know what will happen, so I try to enjoy the little things that make me happy, thanking my family, friends and carers for their patience and affection.

I am happy to be part of the ADIS advisory board, as I believe that, together, we will be able to make this disease better known and to improve the condition of the people who have it.

The European Working Group of People with Dementia (EWGPWD) will be also involved in some of the Public Involvement activities for the ADIS project.

The EWGPWD was set up in 2012 by Alzheimer Europe. It is composed of people with dementia (due to Alzheimer’s disease or to other diseases) from different countries.

To date, it has 15 members, some of them are very active in raising awareness about dementia at national and international level.